The Student News Site of Macalester College

The Mac Weekly

The Student News Site of Macalester College

The Mac Weekly

The Student News Site of Macalester College

The Mac Weekly

Macalester recognizes leaders with Community Recognition Awards

Jeff Garcia '14 presents awards for student organizations. Photo: Jonathan McJunkin.
]1 Jeff Garcia ’14 presents awards for student organizations. Photo: Jonathan McJunkin.

Attendees at this year’s Community Recognition Awards convocation, held in Kagin this Tuesday, could have recognized the winners in purely contained and demure ways, at the expense of enthusiasm. The welcome speech made sure to guard against that possibility and allow for more visceral expressions of appreciation.

“Feel free to whoop it up,” Laurie Hamre, Vice President for Student Affairs, said in her welcome speech. And whoop it up they did—students weren’t shy about showing appreciation for their friends throughout the lunch event.

The student organization awards were presented by Jeff Garcia ‘14 and Assistant Director of Campus Programs Allison Greenlee. The Connect+ planning team won the Civil Discourse Award for organizing a leadership conference this February that brought 30 students to campus to discuss issues of global leadership. WMCN won the Collaboration Award, recognizing their work with the music community in the broader Twin Cities, particularly their “Who Even Listens to WMCN?” concert. MacSlams won the Education Award for their frequent poetry workshops and presence in the community. The Residence Hall Association, a new group formed this September that has organized study breaks and community forums, won the Organizational Growth Award.

Reid McLean, who works with the a cappella group Off Kilter, won Advisor of the Year, an award for student organization advisors.

The Educator of the Year Award is coordinated by Macalester College Student Government. A record 33 nominations were submitted this year. The award was shared by K.P. Hong, an assistant Protestant chaplain at the Center for Religious and Spiritual Life who will be leaving Macalester after this academic year, and Mario Solis-Garcia, a professor in the Economics department who focuses on macroeconomics and the relation of government policy to business.

President Brian Rosenberg then presented the Presidential Leadership Award for Outstanding Seniors, recognizing 13 students “for their scholarship and outstanding contributions to the Macalester community.” One of these students is Eddah Waruiru Mburu ‘13, who was recognized for her work throughout her Macalester career in the field of public health, including efforts to fight HIV. She will be attending graduate school for public health in the fall.

“Interacting with the other award winners reminded me of the great depth that Macalester students go in an effort to make a change in their community,” Mburu said. “I am very grateful for the award and the opportunity to have dinner at the President’s house.”

Jim Hoppe then presented the Dean of Students Award, which honors students in each graduating class “who live out the mission of the college by promoting one or more of the stated values and demonstrating genuine love of the community through service to the college.” Mbemba Camara ‘14 was one of nine students to receive this award. He was recognized in part for his work with the Sophomore Leadership Development Program and for his role in bringing Sustained Dialogue training to campus, a program that aims to train students on how to facilitate conversation on difference and inclusion.

“For me, this award is a validation of the dozens of hours that I’ve committed to community engagement on campus and the ways that I’ve attempted to connect to students on Macalester’s campus,” Camara wrote in an email. “[This] award for me allows me to say I have lived up to the reasons why I wanted to come to Macalester: to establish strong relationships and grow as a student and an individual.”

The selection committee for the Community Recognition Awards was chaired by Robin Hart Ruthenbeck and consisted of Librarian David Collins, English professor Daylanne English, Residence Hall Director Fernando Rodriguez, Classics Department Coordinator Herta Pitman, Campus Programs Graduate Assistant Jessica Proskin, Career Development Center Senior Career Specialist Kate Larson and political science professor Zornitsa D. Keremidchieva. A complete listing of awards and recipients is below:

Student Organization Awards:

Civil Discourse Award

Connect+ Planning Team

Collaboration Award

WMCN Radio

Education Award


Organizational Growth Award

Residence Hall Association

Individual Awards:

Advisor of the Year

Reid McLean, Off Kilter

Educator of the Year

K.P. Hong, CRSL; Mario Solis-Garcia, Economics

Presidential Leadership Award for Outstanding Seniors: Michael Costigan-Humes ‘13, Anja Crowder ‘13, Omar El Zoheiry ‘13, Will French ‘13, Isela Gomez ‘13, Kate Hamilton ‘13, Katie Hinkfuss ‘13, Rebecca Jackson ‘13, Ezequiel Jimenez Martinez ‘13, Harry Kent ‘13, Cecilia Martinez-Miranda ‘13, Eddah Waruiru Mburu ‘13, Hannah McIntire ‘13

Dean of Students Award: Daimon Hardy ‘13, Beatrice Rendon ‘13, Shasta Webb ‘13, Zach Avre ‘14, Mbemba Camara ‘14, Anne Gavin ‘15, Rachel Swanson ‘15, Ian Calloway ‘16, John Stark ‘16

Servant-Leader Award: recognizes students whose actions are congruent with their values, and who thus inspire others to develop their own leadership potential.

Rachel Gunsalus ‘13, Ellen Nikodym ‘13

Civil Discourse Award: given to an individual who has promoted civil discourse on campus on issues related to difference and inclusivity, and who has thus increased understanding and dialogue among members of the Macalester community.

Olivia Nichols ‘13

Ann Bolger Vision Award: applauds a student leader’s abilities to initiate positive organizational change or creative endeavors to contribute to the educational experience of students in a thoughtful, collaborative, and informed fashion.

Cyrus Hair ‘15, Rachel Oldfather ‘13

Outstanding Sophomore of Color Award: given to a student who has made a positive contribution to the Macalester College community and achieved an excellent academic standing.

Brook LaFloe ‘15, Lisa Hu ‘15

Latina Award for Excellence: given to a Latina senior woman who has demonstrated outstanding academic achievement throughout her four years at Macalester.

Isela Gomez ‘13, Rebecca Jackson ‘13

Jean K. Archibald Award: given annually to a graduating library student employee who has been nominated by library staff and who submits an outstanding essay to the selection committee.

Jocelyn Pickreign ‘13

View Comments (4)
More to Discover

Comments (4)

All The Mac Weekly Picks Reader Picks Sort: Newest

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

  • G

    Gabrielle MartinSep 7, 2019 at 9:14 am

    This is my first time pay a quick visit at here and i am genuinely happy to read all at one place.